Bannerman Castle & Breakneck Ridge, Hudson Valley, NY

I saw for the first time Bannerman Castle from Breakneck Ridge in 1990 when I did my first hike in the area. I had no clue what was the construction on the island in the middle of Hudson River. At the time it was no commercial Internet and I forgot completely about it. But hiking again and again I did a little bit of research and found out that there are tours going to the island and the castle that meanwhile lost an entire wing that collapsed of neglect.Today I finally took one of this tours that brought me to Pollepel Island and in close proximity to the ruined castle and shot a lot of the island and the several constructions that are still standing upon it. After the tour I went for a hike on the magnificent Breakneck Ridge that confers majestic views over Hudson Valley.

IMG_6079

Bannerman Castle on Pollepel Island in the Hudson River, NY

IMG_6132

Bannerman Castle on Pollepel Island in the Hudson River, NY

IMG_6159

Hudson Valley, NY

IMG_6176

Breakneck Ridge, NY

IMG_6194

After the rain on Hudson Valley, NY